Horizon 2020 is the new EU Research and Innovation Programme, running from 2014 to 2020. Horizon 2020 is a single programme, uniting three different ones: the previous Framework Programmes; Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP) and European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT). Horizon 2020 will boost EU economic growth and create jobs, investing nearly €80 billion in research, innovation through its three main pillars:

> Excellent Science
> Industrial Leadership
> Societal Challenges

And four smaller pillars:

> Spreading Excellence and Widening Participation
> Science with and for Society
> European Institute of Innovation and Technology
> Euratom